276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Mina and the Undead

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

She'll be staying in the city for a few months to visit her estranged sister, Libby, who moved from their hometown, Whitby, in England, to New Orleans the prior year. After growing up in the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. Yesterday a parent came over to tell me how impressed she was by the book fair and that you did a fabulous job of selling the books to the children first.

Mina plans to spend the summer exploring all the famous parts of a city known for its myths and legends of vampires and killers, whilst also mending her relationship with her sister.But when a body is discovered in the Mansion of the Macabre where Libby is working holding a lock of hair suspiciously like Libby’s and marks on her neck the question is who or what has made those marks? It’s a fantastic independent book seller that will actually be responsive and select appropriate books for you. sisters and their friends must do what they can to survive and get to the bottom of who the psychotic serial killer is, before it's too late. I really enjoyed how this story had actual legends and myths of New Orleans interwoven throughout this very unique tale. I had no idea where the story was going to take us but it is a journey that is memorable and fun to read.

If you’re a fan of vampire tales, sink your teeth into Mina and the Undead and enjoy a thrilling tale of murder, obsession, and romance. I hope we eventually get a sequel as I think there’s definitely room for the story to grow after the events of this book. I couldn’t put this book down once I started it stayed up far too late a couple of nights just so I could read one more chapter. I was equally invested in the characters, with Mina being a new favourite MC for me (probably because she seems to love ALL the same things as me and kept referencing some of my favourite films and books).

First of all, I'd like to thank Netgalley and UCLan for providing me with an advanced edition of this book in exchange for an honest review. The story kept me on my toes with constant twist and forever changing my mind on who was the series killer (I was wrong 100% of the time).

After her first performance as a meatlocker victim, Mina goes upstairs to change and find the next actor to pass her costume to, but finds something much more sinister. After growing up in Whitby, the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. Family secrets, murder, sisterly relationships and romance all weave together to create a thrilling story with a unique take on vampires that is filled with gore and plot twists. Fans of YA horror will no doubt be delighted to read such well-rounded characters embroiled in such a blook-soaked story, but I can’t imagine any horror reader, regardless of age, not having a ton of fun reading this book. The unmissable YA Gothic horror of 2021, perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Stranger Things.

When Libby becomes a suspect for that murder and others, Mina teams up with her new crush, Jared, to try to clear her sister's name. Mina must discover the truth and prove her sister’s innocence before she becomes the victim of another myth.

My obsession only became stronger as time went on with Bela Lugosi, David from The Lost Boys, and the list goes on. The 90s pop culture references made my heart happy every time, especially the references to The Lost Boys (one of my favourite films). But the perfect summer bliss is broken when, while exploring the mansion, Mina stumbles upon the body of a girl with puncture marks on her neck.A very exciting and non-stop journey of a book that transports us to New Orleans in the 90s for a gripping and gruesome story. Crafted in a way that weaves those famous vampire tales of New Orleans and its history into a compelling murder mystery style story, you will not want to miss this. During the summer, Mina visits Libby, her new roommates, Jared and Lucas and Libby's girlfriend Della, in dazzling "Crescent City".

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment