276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Wish I Was There

£7.495£14.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I love her character and her journey, but she also had a lot of history and backstory—so while her character came very easily to me, sometimes it was a struggle to balance her past with her present. I hadn’t come across a fantasy that referenced Welsh mythology before this book, but it was definitely a part of what made The Drowned Woods by Emily Lloyd-Jones an easy 5-star read.

This is a promotional service of HarperCollins Publishers, 195 Broadway, New York, NY 10007, providing information about the products of HarperCollins and its affiliates. She starts off as a fairly standoffish character (though is always kind to animals, a trait I find is pretty synonymous with being a good person) and throughout it we see the events that have led to that and really, all of the bad that has happened to her is due to her trying to do better. Elizabeth is an endearingly flawed heroine, and the other characters are just as nuanced and delightful. But in those days he was around the house a lot and was forever playing chess on a little electronic set. I feel like Fane would be that guy who is delivering groceries to all of his elderly and immune-compromised neighbors while Mer deals with the isolation by adopting many, many dogs.Lloyd's parents separated when she was 18 months old; her father moved out of the family home though Emily continued to live with her mother in Milner Square, Islington. It is part celebrity memoir, part examination into the difficulties of combating mental illness while being in the public eye.

From Ellis in The Bone Houses, to James in The Hearts We Sold, and now to my new fave Fane from The Drowned Woods, your soft boys are just so loveable, and the romance in your books is unparalleled! Part heist novel, part dark fairy tale, and rich with Welsh legends, The Drowned Woods is an ethereal fantasy, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Maria V. Accompanying Fane is Trefor, and I’m fairly certain that this little corgi will steal everyone’s hearts! If Mer uses her powers one last time to help destroy the magical well that protects Garanhir’s lands–and his power–the prince’s reign will be over and Mer will finally be free. Mum embraced motherhood completely but, looking back now, she says she feels Dad was perhaps too young and not yet ready for the responsibilities of having a child.Emily attended the Italia Conti School in London at 15 and landed her first movie role a year later when she was cast as Lynda in David Leland’s highly acclaimed 1986 film Wish You Were Here, based loosely on the memoirs of Cynthia Payne. When Emily Lloyd burst onto the movie scene as a teenager she was hailed as the next Marilyn Monroe. The Drowned Woods combines the best pieces of fantasy and adventure to create a gripping story filled with magic and an ensemble cast you won’t soon forget.

As most of the plays of the time had a very middle-class theme and every actor possessed a double-barrelled name, he thought he needed a name change to fit in. Dominic Guard, Julie Christie, Alan Bates and Edward Fox were the leads in the adaptation of LP Hartley's novel, but Dad also had a cameo role. However, Mum and Dad were now homeless, because Mum had given up her room in the London flat when she'd gone to join Dad in Stratford. An 18-year-old teenage criminal attempts to find a dangerous piece of technology in the short story A Drop of Stolen Ink in the anthology, Hi s Hideous Heart . Both books also feature magical forests, although this one is a redwood forest in Northern California and it’s about a small town with strange happenings.Her performance earned her a BAFTA nomination and won best actress at the Evening Standard Film Awards and f. With a motley crew of allies, including a fae-cursed young man, the lady of thieves, and a corgi that may or may not be a spy, Mer may finally be able to steal precious freedom and peace for herself. Anchored by the emotional nuance of the two leads, this tale of horse-racing, magic, and power is not to be missed. Sometimes you'd be forgiven for thinking that's the only role he's ever had — certainly that's all anyone reminds me of these days — but since he left RADA, the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, he's enjoyed a rich and varied career.

The Drowned Woods combines some of my favorite things–heists, spies, dogs, and a subtle romance–in all of the best ways to create a story worth obsessing over. Uli was very strict and formal and quite intimidating, but she was kind-hearted and loved having her grandchild to stay. A journalist from The Independent subsequently commented that Lloyd was "in danger of becoming better known for the parts she has lost than those she has played". One involves the concrete playground in the square outside the Victorian house where we lived on Milner Square.Lloyd's mental health began to decline in her late teens, and she missed out on several prominent roles due to a combination of factors. I think I’m drawn to that dynamic because most of my favorite ships are based in mutual respect and understanding. Rick Groen from The Globe and Mail praised Lloyd's performance as "letter perfect – her accent impeccable and her energy immense".

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment